This week, Montrose County, Ouray County, Delta County, Bureau of Land Management, and Mountain Village have all enacted Stage 1 Fire Restrictions.

The BLM restrictions are for those areas managed by the Uncompahgre Field Office. Those areas include BLM land in Delta, Montrose, San Miguel, and Ouray counties and parts of Gunnison county.

Stage 1 Fire Restrictions prohibit building, maintaining attending or using a fire, campfire or stove fire on BLM land

The Montrose County ban applies to unincorporated areas of the county and does not include the City of Montrose, Town of Olathe, Town of Nucla, and Town of Naturita.

The county restriction prohibits open burning of any kind, including agricultural burns, campfires, fireworks, and smoking outdoors. Exceptions include small campfires in private campgrounds and state parks with enclosed fire pits.

More From Kool 107.9