If you think speed limit signs are suggestions and not the rule, then you may find yourself parked on the side of the road explaining that to law enforcement. A new survey shows Colorado is the toughest state in the US when it comes to speeding and reckless driving.

Financial website Wallethub ranked all 50 US states and Colorado was the standalone number one. Good news for safe drivers, bad news for Tanner Foust.

The survey compared several factors in determining the states with the most aggressive traffic laws.

One of those factors is how many miles per hour over the speed limit is automatically considered reckless driving, for Colorado, it's 25 mph over. In that instance, the speeding ticket also gets you a reckless driving citation.

Reckless driving, even once, can result in 10 days in jail and a minimum $300 fine. Not to mention the points added to your license.

A simple speeding ticket in Colorado won't amount to jail time, but can do a good job emptying your wallet. Fines for speeding range from $36 to $232 depending on how many miles over the speed limit you're driving. Plus, you can accumulate up to six points towards suspension of your license.

Because Colorado has so many variables in roadways and speed limits, it can be confusing to motorists, as speed limits change frequently even on the same stretch of road.

My son was ticketed last year on Highway 50 between Grand Junction and Montrose in one of those reduced speed zones. If you're from the area, you know the one I'm talking about.

While the Wallethub survey didn't include driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, it's no secret Colorado also has stiff penalties for those infractions.

Add to that Colorado's Click It or Ticket campaign and it's a good bet if you're not following the law when driving, you'll get caught and pay the price.

More From Kool 107.9