New Colorado Law Would Prohibit Phone Use For All Drivers
Colorado lawmakers look to make driving and using your phone illegal.
Current Colorado law makes it illegal for minors, those under the age of 18, to be on their phones while driving. The proposed Senate Bill 19-012 would make it against the law for all drivers. To be compliant going forward all phone usage while driving would have to be "hands-free only."
Should the bill become law it also gives law enforcement more authority to hand out citations to those on their phones. The current law makes busting drivers a challenge.
Colorado State Patrol Master Trooper, Chris Wright says,
If you are texting on the phone you also have to be driving in a careless manner before we can make any kind of contact or stop with it so, we see it all the time where people are texting, eyes up and down and stuff, but while we are watching them, they're in their lane and they aren't driving and weaving, so there's not much we can do about it.
Under the new law, fines would also increase. First offenders would pay a $50 fine and have 2 points deducted from your license. If you receive two or more citations it could cost you $200 and a 4 point deduction. A third offense and the fine goes up to $300.
The bill is already one step closer to becoming law. It was approved by the Colorado Senate last week.