Colorado To-Go Alcohol Sales Continue Until July 2021
It's the news we all have been wondering but not sure when we were finally going to get an answer. But it looks like today is that day. As we are hearing from KRDO, the Colorado House and Senate have agreed to extend to-go alcohol sales in the state of Colorado until July 1, 2021.
Obviously, no one liked it when COVID-19 swept across the world and shut down all dine-in options but we all appreciated having to-go alcohol sales as we supported local restaurants still trying to keep sales numbers going through the pandemic.
This new bill was cleared in the state Senate last week and approved by the House on Saturday. This morning the bill made it past the legislature and the next step is to be signed into law by our Governor Jared Polis.
Here are the guidelines regarding to-go alcohol sales in the state of Colorado:
- The customer must be 21 years of age or older;
- If the governor has not declared an emergency, or the retailer is not a wholesaler, a manufacturer that operates a salesroom, a brewpub, a vintner's restaurant, or a distillery pub, the order may contain no more than 750 milliliters of vinous liquors and spirituous liquors and no more than 72 fluid ounces of malt liquors, fermented malt beverages, and hard cider;
- If the governor has not declared an emergency or the retailer is not a wholesaler or manufacturer that operates a salesroom, the retailer must derive no more than 50% of its gross annual revenues for sales of food and alcohol beverages from the sale of alcoholic beverages through takeout orders and that the retailer delivers;
- If the governor has not declared an emergency, the retailer must have a permit to sell takeout or deliver alcohol beverages; and
- Delivery must be made by an employee of the licensee who is 21 years of age or older and who has satisfactorily completed seller and server training under the responsible vendor program.
It looks like you will be able to order margaritas to go for at least another year here in Colorado.