As laws change here in Colorado we want to keep you in the know with what is going on so when new requirements were being made to Colorado's "Move Over" law we wanted to make sure you knew about them. The "Move Over" law was put in place back in 2005 to help protect law enforcement, especially on a busy highway with vehicles traveling at a high rate of speed.

The law essentially requires all drivers to move one lane away from officers who are parked on the side of the road if possible. Not only was this for law enforcement officers but also for the safety of other emergency vehicles, first responders, and tow trucks that have markers to make their presence known at an accident location.

According to OutThere Colorado, there are many factors such as traffic or weather that makes it difficult for drivers to move over one lane as the law requires. To help solve this dilemma the law has been updated to require all drivers to drop their speed at least 20 miles per hour below the posted speed limit while passing a parked police officer. This change was made just to help with safety on the roadways around Colorado.

If you're caught breaking this law it's going to cost you at least an $87 ticket, plus the cost of your insurance rates probably seeing an increase. More importantly, just imaging if that were your family member out there, you would want everyone to slow down and drive safely. That is what this new law change is all about.

Kool 107.9 logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

The Most Scenic Fall Color Drives in Colorado

More From Kool 107.9