As reported by Ultimate Classic Rock this past December, Thin Lizzy member Scott Gorham announced the formation of a new group, Black Star Riders. Now, the group has confirmed details of their debut full-length effort, scheduled to be released in late May. 'All Hell Breaks Loose' is slated for release in the United States on May 28 via Nuclear Blast.

ABC News Radio is reporting that the record will be released in two different configurations, a standard compact disc release as well as an expanded edition of the record which will include a bonus track as well as a DVD featuring an inside look at the making of the record. Earlier this week, the group released their first single, 'Bound For Glory' which is streaming at Classic Rock.

Black Star Riders also includes his Lizzy bandmates Ricky Warwick, Damon Johnson and Marco Mendoza. Rounding out the band on drums is Jimmy DeGrazzo whose resume includes work with Alice Cooper and Megadeth. In October 2012, Thin Lizzy made the announcement that they would not be recording new material under the Thin Lizzy name.

“Out of respect to Phil Lynott and the legacy he created, we have decided that we should not release a new album under the Thin Lizzy name. It was a very difficult decision as we put a lot of time and effort into re-building the Thin Lizzy brand over recent years," Gorham said via the Thin Lizzy Facebook page.

Gorham acknowledged there being mixed feelings at the prospect of new music being released under the Thin Lizzy moniker, thus helping cement the future of Black Star Riders.

"We have written 20 songs that we all feel very strongly do the band and Thin Lizzy name credit” and insisted that “we believe Phil would have been proud of them." He then added, "We always knew a new record was a touchy subject with some people and as such really want the quality of these songs to be heard by everyone without any judgment or prejudice.”

More From Kool 107.9