Prince's estate has released the next single, "Born 2 Die," from his upcoming posthumous album, Welcome 2 AmericaThe track was unveiled on BBC Radio 6's morning program.

You can watch the video below, and see the album's track list.

"The song was recorded during a flurry of studio activity in the spring of 2010, when President Obama was just a year into his first term," a press release explained. "Prince was reflecting deeply on the issues affecting the Black community and the role he hoped to play."

The track features bassist Tal Wilkenfield and drummer Chris Coleman, with vocalists Shelby J., Liv Warfield, and Elisa Fiorillo. Hayes recalled: "We got to 'Born 2 Die' and Prince said, 'I'll tell you how that came about.' He had been watching videos of his friend Dr. Cornel West on YouTube, and during one speech Dr. West said, 'I love my brother Prince, but he’s no Curtis Mayfield.' So Prince said, 'Oh, really? We will see!'"

Recorded over a decade ago, Welcome 2 America has been shelved until now, even though the singer played dozens of shows from 2010 to 2012 on a tour of the same name. The full, 12-track LP will be released on July 30, serving as the first complete album of all-new material from Prince's vault since his death in 2016. Other track titles include “Running Game (Son of a Slave Master)” and “One Day We Will All B Free.”

A press release announcing the album reported that it addressed “Prince’s concerns, hopes and visions for a shifting society, presciently foreshadowing an era of political division, disinformation, and a renewed fight for racial justice." Those concerns included “golden parachutes, the superficial nature of social media, reality TV-fueled celebrity culture and corporate monopolies in the music industry, ultimately concluding that America is the ‘Land of the free/home of the slave.'" The release quoted Prince speaking at the time the LP was recorded, saying: "The world is fraught with misin4mation. George Orwell’s vision of the future is here. We need 2 remain steadfast in faith in the trying times ahead.”

Prince - 'Born 2 Die' Video

Prince - Welcome 2 America Track List

1. "Welcome 2 America"
2. "Running Game (Son of a Slave Master)"
3. "Born 2 Die"
4. "1000 Light Years From Here"
5. "Hot Summer"
6. "Stand Up and B Strong"
7. "Check the Record"
8. "Same Page, Different Book"
9. "When She Comes"
10. "1010 (Rin Tin Tin)
11. "Yes"
12. "One Day We Will All B Free"


What Happened to the Artists of Paisley Park Records?

More From Kool 107.9