How Many Marijuana Users are Driving While High?
Is the average recreational marijuana user driving while high? A new study answers the question.
First, the survey conducted by Instamotor is a cross-section of marijuana users in the eight states (including Colorado) plus Washington D.C., where recreational use is legal.
The survey selected participants at random without knowing whether they smoked or consumed pot. Those who did not use marijuana (36%) were excluded from the survey.
This was done in an attempt to get a representative sample of the average recreational user. Those surveyed were asked the question, 'Are you comfortable driving within two hours of smoking or consuming marijuana?'
- 39% Felt comfortable driving within two hours
- 42% Were not comfortable driving within two hours
- 19% Said it depends on the on the particular instance
In Colorado, 5 nanograms of active THC in your system, unless police believe there are other extenuating circumstances, will get you busted for driving under the influence of marijuana.
First Offenders can be sentenced for 5 days to one year in jail. Fines can range from $600 to $1,000 and 48 to 96 hours of public service can be mandated.
Get caught a third time and you're looking at 60 days to one year in jail plus a minimum of two years probation. Fines range from $600 to $1,500. Plan on 48 to 120 hours of community service and mandatory courses on drug and alcohol safety.