Skiers rejoice! Winter is on its way and that means slopes around Colorado will be opening for the season. When will your favorite Colorado slopes open for the 2016 season?

94.3 the X in Ft. Collins put together a thorough list of Colorado resorts and the opening day for their season. These are, of course, only anticipated dates. They were set some time ago, and depending on snowfall, are subject to change.

For our purposes, the resorts have been listed in order of opening dates:

Thursday, October 27

  • Loveland
  • Arapahoe Basin Ski Area

Saturday, October 29

  • Wolf Creek Ski Area

Saturday, November 5

  • Keystone

Friday, November 11

  • Copper Mountain Resort
  • Breckenridge

Wednesday, November 16

  • Winter Park Resort

Friday, November 18

  • Vail
  • Monarch Mountain
  • Elder Mountain Resort

Saturday, November 19

  • Purgatory

Wednesday, November 23

  • Crested Butte Mountain Resort
  • Beaver Creek

Thursday, November 24

  • Aspen / Snowmass

Friday, November 25

  • Ski Cooper
  • Telluride

Saturday, November 26

  • Steamboat

Friday, December 2

  • Sunlight Mountain Resort
  • Howelsen Hill

Thursday, December 15

  • Echo Mountain

Friday, December 16

  • Powderhorn

Saturday, December 17

  • Ski Granby Ranch

Monday, December 19

  • Silverton Mountain

As you can see, some resorts will open as early as October 27. Western Colorado brings up the rear as one of the last Colorado slopes to open, with a projected date of December 16.

Don't be like me and let ski season sneak up on you. It will be here before you know it. Keep these dates handy, and start planning now.